300-PASS-North-Logo-copy.jpg (20951 bytes)

PASS 150 SLM - White Mountain - Fri., Sept. 18th
WMMP Top Three: Kelly Moore, 3rd; Winner Richie Dearborn; and Ben Rowe, 2nd.
The Dearborn Team
.: 2009 PASS North Super Late Model Champions :.
Johnny Clark and the Clark Motorsports Team
Photos by
Jamie Williams &
Dearborn Dominates PASS North Finale
Johnny Clark Finishes Fifth, Earns Fourth
PASS North Super Late Model Championship
Naples ME (9/19/09) Richie Dearborn started on pole in Friday's Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North Night of Champions 150 at White Mountain Motorsports Park and never looked back to win the PASS super late model feature. Dearborn led every lap and was never really challenged, despite the best efforts of Ben Rowe (second) and Kelly Moore (third). The victory was the fourth Pro All Stars Series win for Dick and Deb Dearborn's family race team, moving the Hollis Maine veteran up to sixth in the career win column. His last feature win came during the 2007 season at Hermon Maine's Speedway 95. Dearborn is the tenth different PASS North feature winner of 2009.

Travis Benjamin crossed the finish line fourth and Johnny Clark claimed fifth, enough to earn the Farmingdale Maine speed merchant a fourth (and second consecutive) PASS North Championship. Clark topped the ultra-completive super late model series stats with three wins, eight top fives and twelve top tens in thirteen starts. His unofficial margin of victory over Rowe for the title is 32 points. Kelly Moore will finish the season third in the standings, while Dearborn will move ahead of Adam Bates for the fourth spot with Bates fifth in the final tally.

Clark led 199 laps on his way to the championship. With the 2009 title Clark moves into a tie with Ben Rowe at four for most PASS championships earned.

Thirty cars attempted to qualify for the 25 car field, with a number of invaders on hand to challenge the series regulars. Tracy Gordon was back in the saddle, driving DJ Howard's ride. The Strong Maine veteran parked early, finishing 24th. Former White Mountain late model ace Mark Patten ran second early on until his race car gave up. Mike Rowe was back, this time behind the wheel of his familiar PT Watts ride, but the PASS 300 winner didn't have enough car to challenge for the win and crossed the line eighth. Alan Wilson (11th) and Unity PASS winner Randy Turner (12th) both had solid runs.

Matt Frahm earned his 3rd top ten finish of 2009 with a strong sixth and PASS rookie Steve Legendre returned to the track where his stock racing career began to finish seventh.

The race pace was fast and furious. Super late models tour the banked quarter mile in the low twelve second range and just two minor cautions slowed the field. Eleven cars finished on the lead lap; twenty of the twenty-five starters were running at the finish.

Mike Rowe, Cassius Clark and Johnny Clark each claimed a qualifying race; Scott Alexander won the consolation round.

There's plenty of PASS Super Late Model racing left in 2009 as the PASS South and Nation al Championship series head down the home stretch. Saturday September 26 is round two of the PASS National series at Southern National Raceway Park in Kenly North Carolina, and then it's on to South Boston on Saturday October 17 for the Mason-Dixon Meltdown, the final round in the PASS National Championship. One week later the PASS South Champion will be crowned at Greenville-Pickens Speedway when the PASS South season wraps up with "The Howler".
Official Finish - PASS 150 SLM - White Mountain - Fri., Sept. 18th
1) 33 - Richie Dearborn - Hollis NH
2) 4N - Ben Rowe - Turner ME
3) 47 - Kelly Moore - Scarborough ME
4) 17 - Travis Benjamin - Morrill ME
5) 54 - Johnny Clark Hallowell ME
6) 14m - Matt Frahm - Salem NH
7) 20 - Steve Legendre - St. Johnsbury VT
8) 2x - Mike Rowe - Turner ME
9) 98 - Adam Bates - Warner NH
10) 21 - Donnie Lashua -Meridith, NH
11) 53 - Alan Wilson - Hebron ME
12) 1 - Randy Turner - Readfield, ME
13) 85 - Nick Ribbe - Kingston, MA
14) 17A - Scott Alexander - Orrington ME
15) 7 - Donnie Whitten - Biddeford ME
16) 12 - John Dabrowski - W. Bridgewater MA
17) 4x - Bradley Babb - Windham, ME
18) 71 - Corey Robert - Canaan, NH
19) 09 - Jeremy Davis - Tamworth, NH
20) 0 - Bill Whorff Jr. - Bath ME
21) 97h - Walt Hammond - Orange, NH
22) 8 - Cassius Clark - Farmington ME
23) 01 - Joe Decker - Chesterville, ME
24) 14h - Tracy Gordon - Strong, ME
25) 07 - Mark Patten - Belmont, NH


PASS North News In the Archives HERE

Series Contact:  Tommy Mayberry - (207) 693-6497

email: passracing@roadrunner.com

black bullet.gif (1837 bytes)


black bullet.gif (1837 bytes)

2001-2009 Pro All Stars Series, Inc.