L to R - Richie Dearborn #33, 3rd; Winner Trevor Sanborn #44;
and Travis Benjamin #17, 2nd.
SLM Official Finish - Riverside - Saturday, 7/31 
1 - 44 - Trevor Sanborn
2 - 17 - Travis Benjamin
3 - 33 - RIchie Dearborn
4 - 48 - Ben Rowe
5 - 8 - Cassius Clark
6 - 7 - Donnie Whitten
7 - 54 - Johnny Clark
8 - 77 - Scott Chubbuck
9 - 71 - Gary Drew
10 - 98 - Adam Bates
11 - 85 - Nick Ribbe
12 - 14m - Matt Frahm
13 - 75 - Gary Smith
14 - 73 - Joey Doiron
15 - 17a - Scott Alexander
16 - 01 - Sam Gooden
17 - 1 - Randy Turner
18 - 25 - Mike Thomas
Sanborn Seals the Deal
at PASS Summerfest 150
NAPLES ME (8/31) Trevor Sanborn found a way to get by team mate Travis Benjamin on lap 83 of Saturday nights Pro All Stars Series (PASS) super late model feature at Groveton NH’s Riverside Speedway, earning his first career PASS North win. Sanborn and Benjamin gave the Richard Moody Racing team a sweep of the top two spots. Richie Dearborn crossed the line third.

Sanborn has been fast all season long, leading 262 laps prior to the Summerfest 150. But despite several podium finishes, the two time PASS South race winner had been unable to drive under the checkers first in the northern series until Saturday night.

Ben Rowe picked up six spots from the grid to finish fourth; 2009 Summerfest 150 winner Cassius Clark was fifth. Donnie Whitten had another solid run in sixth, while point leader Johnny Clark finished outside of the top five for just the second time in 2010 with a seventh place result. Scott Chubbuck, Gary Drew and Adam Bates raced home eighth, ninth and tenth.

Gary Drew brought the field down to the green and held the lead early but the field was anxious to pick up the pace and Travis Benjamin was first to make the move past Drew on lap 31. Benjamin was having a strong run in a stout race car, opening up a big lead over his team mate Sanborn, Cassius Clark, Drew, and Chubbuck at the crossed flags.

The event’s only caution flag flew on lap eighty, bringing Benjamin back to Sanborn, Clark and Dearborn. Sanborn knew that the caution might be his only opportunity to challenge Benjamin and he made his move when the green flew. The pair raced side by side for several laps before Sanborn took over the lead for good. Benjamin dogged the leader for the final 70-plus laps, and Dearborn made a charge on Benjamin in the late going but the top three remained the same at the checkers.

Sanborn joins Bill Rodgers as the second first time PASS North super late model race winner of 2010.

Ten cars finished all 150 green flag laps in a quick, nearly caution free race that took just 40 minutes from green to checker. Johnny Clark and Gary Drew each earned a qualifying race win.

The PASS North Super Late Models take a weekend off before they travel to Seekonk Speedway in Seekonk, MA on Saturday August 14. PASS South gets back in gear next weekend, August 7th, at Newport (TN) Speedway for the Daniel Boone Classic.

L to R - Wayne Whitten Jr. #2, 3rd; Winner Andy Shaw #66;
and Scott MacDaniel #14, 2nd.
Mods Official Finish - Riverside - Saturday, 7/31 
1 - 66 - Andy Shaw
2 - 14 - Scott McDaniel
3 - 2x - Wayne Whitten Jr.
4 - 77 - Jon Brill
5 - 53w - Alan Wilson
6 - 56x - Rich Ferreira
7 - 33 - Bill Dixon
8 - 6 - Kevin Douglass
9 - 18 - Mike Mayberry
DNS - 50 - Sumner Sessions
PASS Mod Win Number Three
for Shaw at Riverside
Naples ME (8/1) Andy Shaw came back strong after an early race tangle to pass Scott McDaniel on a lap 25 restart and win his third Pro All Stars Series (PASS) Mod feature of 2010 at Groveton New Hampshire’s Riverside Speedway. The win was Shaw’s eighth feauture victory in the ultracompetitive PASS open wheel division.

The 40 lap go got off to a rough start with a pair of cautions that involved several of the front runners including Mike Mayberry, Wayne Whitten Jr., Kevin Douglass and Shaw. After a pair of restarts a race finally broke out with Rich Ferreira out front. Scott McDaniel charged past Alan Wilson for second and claimed the lead from Ferreira on lap six. McDaniel had the look of a winner as he took off from the pack, building up a sizeable lead over Wayne Whitten Jr. Meanwhile Shaw was rumbling through the field after his lap four dustup joining a great scrap for second with Whitten, Wilson, and Ferreira.

By lap 23 second place was Shaw’s and he set sail to try and chase down McDaniel. McDaniel had done his best to run away from the rest of the field, building up a huge lead as the battle for position continued behind him.

But lap 25 saw a caution fly for Mike Mayberry’s excursion off of turn two and McDaniel’s once insurmountable lead evaporated. It was all Shaw on the restart, although McDaniel did his best to keep the point leader at bay. McDaniel tried in vain to find a way back around Shaw for 15 laps but there was no denying Shaw.

Wayne Whitten Jr. earned the final podium position with Alan Wilson fourth and Jon Brill fifth. Ferreira and Whitten Jr. were winners in the heat races.

The PASS Mod squad will return to Riverside on Sunday August 15 for the Clash of the Titans 150, and then it’s off to Spud Speedway on August 21 for the series’ first visit to the Northern Maine oval.

Click on the PASS master schedule to learn more about both events; there are links to every speedway the series visits.



PASS News In the Archives HERE

Series Contact:  Tommy Mayberry - (207) 693-6497


black bullet.gif (1837 bytes)

black bullet.gif (1837 bytes)

2001-2010 Pro All Stars Series, Inc.