Gary Smith Claims the PASS
Bastille 200 at Lee USA
Popular win for the super late model veteran
Naples ME (7/13) Gary Smith didn't lead a lot of laps in Tuesday night's Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North 200 at Lee (NH) USA Speedway but he took the battle to defending series champion Johnny Clark and put his Bud and Rays/Uncle Henry's ride out front with five to go to score his first Pro All Stars Series win in eleven seasons of trying. Donnie Whitten got by Clark at the checkers for second, and Clark crossed the stripe third.

Early on it was all Joey Pole. Pole grabbed the lead from Matt Frahm at the initial green and the pair took off with defending race winner Mike Rowe in Paul Watts 2x giving chase. That was the order at lap fifty and it stayed that way until the first caution flew at lap 71 for Bryan Cruszek's wall slapper, ending his solid top ten run.

The front three stayed on track, and Pole resumed control. Ben Rowe had rumbled up to the top five and Gary Smith was now inside the top ten.. When the crossed flags were displayed it was still Joey Pole in command but Ben Rowe was now his challenger with Lonnie Sommerville third, Frahm fourth and Gary Smith fifth. Rowe drove around Pole on lap 105 for the the night's first lead change Sommerville took a turn challenging for the lead and Smith had made his way to third, chasing down the top two as they battled side by side.

The second caution of the night flew at lap 117 for Alex Gingras harmless spin, and the field all hit pit road for tires and adjustments. Everyone but Gary Smith and Scott Alexander, that is, as the pair decided to hang on for a few more laps before making their stop. Ben Rowe won the race out of the pits and quickly dispatched with Smith for the lead with Johnny Clark following through to third. It was Sommervilles turn to make a charge and the Canadian hot shoe made his move for the lead on lap 142. A pair of quick yellows gave Clark the outside line and he took advantage just as the caution flew for a front stretch melee involving Joey Pole, Ben Rowe and Mike Rowe. The mess ended Pole and Mike Rowe's night and Ben Rowe was no longer a contender.

At the three quarter mark Clark was still in control with Sommerville, Donnie Whitten, Scott Dragon and Smith all giving chase. Smith had held off his tire stop to late in the race, and it looked like that strategy might pay off.

The caution flew once again for contact between Scott Dragon and Donnie Whitten and race control sent Whitten to the back of the pack for his role in the incident. The caution set up one of the best displays of side by side racing that PASS has ever seen. Clark took command on the restart and opened up a slight margin over Sommerville, but Smith quickly took over second and set his sights on the leader. Clark chose the high side and Smith took the bottom, and the pair swapped the lead time after time over the last twenty laps. A lapped car took away Smith's lane at one point but he battled right back and by lap 193 Smith was up to Clark's door once again. Two laps later he made the move stick to end an eleven year PASS victory lane drought for his family race team.

Donnie Whitten came on strong from the back of the field to nip Clark at the line for a strong second place finish. Clark, Sommerville and Frahm rounded out the top five.

PASS North takes the weekend off before hosting the PASS National Championship series at Thompson (CT) International Speedway on Thursday July 21st. Then its on to Oxford Plains Speedway for the return of the super late models on the night before “The 250” , Saturday July 23rd.

Shaw and Tartro Capture PASS MODS, Sportsman Wins at Lee USA
Five in a row for Shaw, Tatro's now two for two
NAPLES ME (7/14) The Pro All Stars Series (PASS) Mods and Sportsman were on the PASS Bastille 200 card at Lee USA Speedway Tuesday night, and the faces carrying the checkers to victory lane were familiar.

Andy Shaw took a little longer to get to the front than usual, but the results were the same. Shaw took advantage of a restart on lap 30 of the 40 lap feature to drive around Rich Ferreira for his fifth win in five 2011 PASS Mod starts.

It looked like Ferreira was ready to end Shaw's streak Ferreira started on pole and didn't look like he could be challenged . Shaw had worked his way to second by the half way mark but Ferreira was able to maintain a gap on him,but a lapcaution flag gave the defending series champ the shot he needed and the outside groove worked in his favor.

Ferreira stood his ground for second and Mark Lundblad Jr. had his best PASS Mod run ever to claim the final podium spot.

Alan Wilson and Ferreira each claimed a heat race win.

The PASS Sportsman series ran seventy five green flag laps and as always they put on an action packed race with challenges for position all around the speedway. Carey Martin and Shane Tatro brought the field to the green and Martin jumped out front, and the pair raced that way to well past the half way mark until RJ Austin flexed his muscle, taking over the top spot on lap 59.

Martin and Tatro were right on Austin's bumper and a restart on lap 68 saw Austin spin his tires, allowing Tatro and Martin to get by . Four laps later Martin and Austin got together to bring out the final caution and end their chances for victory..

At the checkers it was Tatro going two for two in victory lane with Kenny Marnier second and Scott Dorr third.

The PASS Mods will take on Oxford Plains Speedway for the first time ever on Friday July 22, and PASS Sportsman are scheduled to get back on track Sunday August 28th at White Mountain Motorsports Park.

SLM Top Three - L to R: Johnny Clark #54, 3rd:
Winner Gary Smith #75; & Donnie Whitten #7, 2nd.

Jamie Williams

Jamie Williams
SLM Results: Lee USA on Tues., July 12th
1) 75 - Gary Smith Bangor ME
2) 7 - Donnie Whitten Biddeford ME
3) 54 - Johnny Clark Farmingdale ME
4) 48 - Lonnie Sommerville NB CA
5) 14m - Matt Frahm N Salem NH
6) 17 - Travis Benjamin Morrill ME
7) 17a - Scott Alexander Orrington ME
8) 10 - Scott Dragon Colchester VT
9) 88 - Kyle DeSouza E. Providence RI
10) 4 - Ben Rowe Turner ME
11) 12 -  John Dabrowski Bridgewater MA
12) 2 -  Matt Matheson New Brunswick CA
13) 27qc - Alex Gingras Quebec City QC
14) 77 - Scott Chubbuck Dresden ME
15) 97-  Joey Polewareczyk Hudson NH
16) 2x - Mike Rowe Turner ME
17) 73 - Joey Doiron Berwick ME
18) 00 - Bryan Kruczek Newmarket NH
19) 09 - Bobby Baillargeron Kingston NH
20) 11 - Austin Brehio Hopkinton NH

MODS Top Three - L to R: Mark Lundblad Jr. #28, 3rd;
Winner Andy Shaw #66; & Richie Ferreira #53x, 2nd.
MODS Results: Lee USA on Tues., July 12th
1) 66 - Andy Shaw Center Conway NH
2) 56 - Richie Ferriera Raynham MA
3) 28 - Mark Lundblad Jr. Conway NH
4) 60 - Dana Reed Shapleigh ME
5) 53w - Alan Wilson Hebron ME
6) 33 - Bill Dixon No. Waterboro ME
7) 53 - Leo Oliviera Raynham MA
8) 05 - Ron Henry New Gloucester ME
9) 50 - Sumner Sessions Norway ME
10) 61 - Shawn Austin Norridgewok ME
11) 85 - Mitch Miller West Boylston MA

SLM Top Three - L to R: Scott Dorr #60, 3rd:
Winner Shane Tatro #7; & Kenny Marnier #1, 2nd.
Sportsman Results: Lee USA on Tues., July 12th
1) 7 - Shane Tatro Holden ME
2) 1 - Kenny Marnier Littleton NH
3) 60 - Scott Dorr Portland ME
4) 58 - Lyman McKeage Gorham ME
5) 15 - Craig Smith E/ Waterboro ME
6) 10 - Donnie Morse Windham ME
7) 16 - Kevin Douglas Sidney ME
8) 18 - Carey Martin Denmark ME
9) 51 - RJ Austin Smithfield ME
10) 44 - Jerrod Ledger Groveton NH
11) 14 - Andy Turbouyky Winslow ME
12) 34 - Spencer Morse Waterford ME
13) #2
14) 4 - Todd Bregy Berwick ME
15) 22 - Steve Bennett Jr. Turner ME
16) 01 - Rob Drew Ctr. Lovell ME
17) 75 - Doug Wolfe
18) 38 - Dan McKeage Gorham ME
19) 777 - Mike St. Germain Auburn M



PASS News In the Archives HERE

Series Contact:  Tommy Mayberry - (207) 693-6497


black bullet.gif (1837 bytes)

black bullet.gif (1837 bytes)

2001-2011 Pro All Stars Series, Inc.