PASS SLM at Seekonk Top Three: L to R - Ben Rowe #4, 3rd;
Winner DJ Shaw #60; and Travis Benjamin #17, 2nd.
Photos by Norm Marx 
DJ Shaw PASS North
Winner at Seekonk
SEEKONK MA ( 8/4) DJ Shaw put his Precision JLM Toyota out front on lap 104 of Saturday night's Pro All Stars Series (PASS) 150 to earn his first super late model feature win of 2012. Travis Benjamin raced home in second and Ben Rowe was third.

The victory was Shaw's first PASS feature victory since September of 2011 when he checkered at White Mountain Motorsports Park. The Center Conway New Hampshire racer, who builds the race cars he drives for Julio and Rita Miglioli, now has four PASS North career wins. He joins Cassius Clark, Travis Benjamin,Johnny Clark, Derek Ramstrom, Joey Doiron and Scott Dragon on the 2012 PASS North winner's list.

Seekonk Speedway is the birthplace of Pro Stock (now Super Late Model) racing and the tracks' weekly competitors have proven that they can compete with the best PASS has to offer. Until tonight Johnny Clark was the only PASS regular to defeat the home town racers and when qualifying was over the top ten was peppered with local boys including Ryan Vanasse on the pole and Fred Astle in the third spot. Vanasse and Ben Rowe brought the 27 car field to the initial green and Vanasse led the first 32 stanzas until multi time Seekonk champ Fred Astle took over briefly. Derek Ramstrom took it to Astle on a lap 35 restart and he looked strong, maintaining his lead through the half way mark with Travis Benjamin, Austin Theriault, Vanasse and DJ Shaw the top five at the crossed flags.

Benjamin and Ramstrom swapped the lead on two restarts, but the pair got together on the next one and Ramstrom went for a ride, spinning from the lead. The incident put Benjamin out front but Shaw was now second with Lonnie Sommerville, Rowe and Vanasse all chasing the top two. Shaw made the winning move when the green flew, and Benjamin barely survived Ben Rowe's three wide move on the final lap to keep the runner up spot.

Shaw's margin of victory was .419 seconds; fourteen drivers completed all 150 laps. Seven cautions slowed the pace. Heat race winners were Vanasse, Rowe and Astle.

PASS heads to the White Mountains of New Hampshire this Sunday August 12th when The PASS North Super Late Models, PASS Mods and Sportsman will all be in action at White Mountain Motorsports Park in North Woodstock. Race time is 2:00 PM.
 Seekonk Speedway - 8/4/12
1) 60 - DJ Shaw - 150 laps
2) 17 - Travis Benjamin - 150
3) 4 - Ben Rowe - 150
4) 54 - Johnny Clark - 150
5) 48 - Lonnie Sommerville - 150
6) 18 - Austin Theriault - 150
7) 14 - Rick Martin - 150
8) 77 - Cassius Clark - 150
9) 35 - Derek Ramstrom - 150
10) 90 - Craig Weinstein - 150
11) 3 - Tom Scully Sr. - 150
12) 52 - David Darling - 150
13) 87 - Matt Harris - 150
14) 11 - Ryan Vanesse - 150
15) 2 - Matt Matheson - 149
16) 27 - Mike Brightman - 148
17) 12 - Bobby Pellond - 148
18) 75 - Gary Smith - 147
19) 92 - Billy Brady - 145
20) 88 - Kyle Desouza - 141
21) 7 - Donnie Whitten - 103
22) 2x - Tom Scully Jr. - 96
23) 15 - Joey Pole - 78
24) 30 - Fred Astle - 65
25) 73 - Joey Doiron - 63
26) 44 - Austin Brehio - 21
27) 91 - Charlie Rose - 15
| Entries Received - Seekonk - 8/4 |

PASS North Regulars Out to Even
the Seekonk Score Saturday
NAPLES ME (7/31) It's no easy deal racing against the Northeast's Super Late Model super stars. They have the team, the talent and the equipment to take on any speedway's home town heroes and leave with the checkered flag and the big trophy. But there's always an exception to any rule, and when the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North race teams roll into Seekonk (MA) Speedway for a short track Saturday night the drivers that follow the traveling race show all over the Northeast will be out to even the score.

Seekonk has a talent laden field of Pro Stocks (the forerunner to today's Super Late Models) and they know every inch of asphalt at the historic short track. They're hard to beat on their home turf; Tom Scully Jr. and Dave Darling are living proof. They've both prevailed over the PASS North regulars at Seekonk. In fact it took three trips to the Action Track of the East before six time PASS North Champion Johnny Clark could break the locals' strangle hold on victory lane.

So the scoreboard reads home boys 2, PASS regulars 1 and Saturday's edition could go either way. Early entries include defending race winner Johnny Clark, series point leader Cassius Clark, Travis Benjamin, Gary Smith, Derek Ramstrom, Joey Doiron and Canadian Maritimers Lonnie Sommerville, Matt Matheson and Matt Harris. Kyle DeSouza has won in almost every division they race at Seekonk and the 2011 PASS North Co-Rookie of the Year has proven he is ready to win in a PASS super late model. DJ Shaw, Tom Scully Sr. and Jr., Austin Brehio, Austin Theriault, Billy Brady and Donnie Whitten are all pre-entered and you can be sure that there will be plenty of post entries, many of them capable of taking down the win.

It all goes green on Saturday August 4th at 6:00 PM. Seekonk Speedway's web address is .



PASS News In the Archives HERE

Series Contact:  Tommy Mayberry - (207) 693-6497


black bullet.gif (1837 bytes)

black bullet.gif (1837 bytes)

2001-2012 Pro All Stars Series, Inc.