Tri-County Motor Speedway
Hudson, NC
1) 25 - John Smith
2) 1 - Burt Myers
3) 4 - Jason Myers
4) 19 - Brandon Ward
5) 44 - Andy Jankowiak
6) 54 - Scott Hall
7) 31 - Zach Brewer
8) 77 - Gary Putnam
9) 5 - Tom Buzze
10) 12 - Mike Norman
11) 14 - Bobby Measmer, Jr.
12) 97 - Bryan Dauzat
13) 99 - AJ Winstead
Smith Edges Burt Myers At Tri-County
For 3rd Straight SMRS Modified Win
HUDSON, NC (July 22) - Mt. Airy, NC's John Smith and Burt Myers battled side-by-side for the final 16 laps as Smith edged ahead at the finish for his third straight Southern Modified Racing Series (SMRS) Presented By PASS win Friday night at Tri-County Motor Speedway.

"This is one of the best racetracks we go to, I wish we could race here every week," said Smith in victory lane. "Burt [Myers] was pinching me off and he was doing what he needed to do to keep me down there, but I had such great forward drive. We raced side-by-side and I don't think we ever touched each other. What a day."

For the third time this year, Brandon Ward was able to capture the Precision Built Spindles Pole Award with a lap of 15.252 seconds (98.190 MPH). But, after the top four qualifier redraw, Smith would slot into the pole position, while Ward would move back to the third starting position.

At the drop of the green, Jason Myers would jump into the lead from the outside pole position before the caution would wave on lap two for a spin by Bryan Dauzat on the front stretch. J. Myers would continue to lead until the caution would wave again when AJ Winstead spun exiting turn four due to a flat left rear tire and would collect Concord winner, Bobby Measmer, Jr.

On the restart, Zach Brewer would get the better of J. Myers to take the lead. After starting sixth, B. Myers made his presence known, passing J. Myers on the outside for second on lap 35 and would move by Brewer for the lead one lap later on the bottom exiting turn two. On lap 46, B. Myers would slip high exiting turn four allowing both Smith and Brewer to move by for first and second respectively. But, by lap 60, B. Myers' car was continuing to handle well on the outside as he reassumed the lead from Smith.

With 31 laps to go, Dauzat would have a problem on the front stretch to bring out the third caution of the night. All the leaders pitted with Brewer winning the race off pit row, followed by Smith, Ward, and J. Myers. Back under green, Smith wasted little time moving back into the lead, while the action behind him began to heat up. With 22 laps to go, Brewer and Ward made contact battling for second in turn three, allowing B. Myers to slip by both. Then, B. Myers and Brewer got together two laps later in turn one, but everybody was able to gather their cars up.

B. Myers made a surprising move to the inside of Smith with 16 laps to go to briefly take the lead before Smith charged back down to the inside. The two leaders would race side-by-side every lap until the caution waved with five laps to go when contact between Ward and Measmer while battling for fifth sent Measmer into the outside wall.

Over the last five laps, Smith and B. Myers continued to race door-to-door with Smith edging out just enough at the finish for his third straight SMRS Tour Modified win.

"It was frustrating, but it was fun," said B. Myers afterwards. "It was just way too tight after we pitted. If the car would have been where it needed to be I could have beat him on the outside. That's a great group of guys but I'm getting tired of finishing behind him."

Following Smith and B. Myers at the finish were J. Myers, Ward, and Andy Jankoiak. Rounding out the top 10 were the Mod Lite winner, Scott Hall, Brewer, Gary Putnam, Tom Buzze, and Mike Norman.

Mack Little took advantage of a late-race restart to slip by Colby Howard for the Mid-Atlantic Limited Late Model win over Howard, Ryan Robertson, Jeremy Pelfrey, and Amber Burchette. Kevin Eby claimed the checkered flag in the Southern Outlaw Street Stock division.

The Southern Modified Racing Series Presented By PASS will be in action once again on Saturday night, August 27 at Caraway Speedway. Entry forms will be available at SouthernModifiedRacingSeries,com.

Be sure to "Like" the Pro All Stars Series and Southern Modified Racing Series on Facebook or follow us on Twitter at @PASSSLM14.


Series Contact:  Tommy Mayberry - (207) 693-6497


black bullet.gif (1837 bytes)

black bullet.gif (1837 bytes)

2001-2016 Pro All Stars Series, Inc.